Buggies Unlimited Golf Cart Troubleshooting Text Support

Controllers

Postby rongunnoe » Sun Jan 08, 2006 7:29 pm

OK, so what would you suggest for me to reach 33-35mph with my 2003 Western Golf Cart(EZ Go) 48 volt, 8- 6 volt batteries with regenerative sys? I now have 25 mph. I would prefer to not raise it or use bigger tires. Is there a "bolt on system" that I can use? Should I change controllers or go to a series system? Thax for your advice.
rongunnoe

Postby FNA » Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:58 pm

Thanks Terry & Roger!! What educational info!!!! (for me anyway!)

Since you state that all controllers are thermally protected from over heating, what causes them to pop? What component(s) actually blow? Few year back I worked for a local GC shop and controllers seem to be a pretty common item to go.

Thank a million!
Tom
FNA

Postby jeepnjo6 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 10:33 am

Sounds like an opinion really. I'm a mechanic in Pinehurst NC and I work on Shunt motor carts daily. I now have PDS carts going 35 mph with no downhill braking. Stock motor with controller change and gear change. I know that series motors have a wider range of applications but with around $800 you can get shunt carts moving. If your planning on hugh upgrades it is probably in your best interest to go with a series motor cart because of the cost.
jeepnjo6

Postby FiveFlat » Wed May 10, 2006 3:46 pm

How do I know if I have a shunt wound or series wound motor currently?
FiveFlat

Postby jeepnjo6 » Wed May 10, 2006 4:32 pm